Beauchief Abbey is a hidden gem, set in a peaceful site and surrounded by parkland, on the Sheffield Round Walk route.
The oldest building in Sheffield, the abbey was founded in the 12th century and is dedicated to Thomas à Becket of Canterbury. It was dissolved by the Commissioners of Henry VIII in 1536. During the 1670s a small chapel was added to the medieval tower. Weekly Church of England Services are held to this day in the original chapel.
Take a look round the original medieval tower, the 17th century addition with its original box pews, as well as the remains of the old monastery cloisters and fishponds.
On Sunday at 3pm there'll be a Choral Evensong performance from Abbey Lane Singers.
Part of Heritage Open Days.
- Images by
- Gemma Thorpe