This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

What's On

Our Sheffield culture calendar. Filled with picks of the city’s arts, culture and heritage events, both in-person and virtual. Plus reviews and festival guides.

Drawing the Human Figure

Multiple dates

The Art House

Over nine weeks, learn how to capture the human form and build your drawing skills.

Printmaking in the Park

Multiple dates

Gathering Ground, Hillsborough Park, S6 4HD

Have a go at printing with Hillsborough-based artist and printmaker Sam Groom. Pick up skills in drawing, mark making, mono printing, paint and stencils, engraving, design, and stamp printing.

The Deathless Woman

Sat. 2 July 2022

Firvale Community Hub, 127 Page Hall Road, S4 BGU

A film aiming to draw our attention to the persecution of the Roma people from the 1940s to the present day. Screening with an introduction by Rosa Cisneros and a discussion and language workshop with Romani expert Juice Vamosi.

Out & About: Urban Futures Weekend

Sat. 2 July 2022 — Sun. 3 July 2022

CIQ Square in Pinball Park, Brown Street, S1 2BF

Explore what the future of our city could look like at this weekend of free family-friendly fun. With architecture tours, print making, trails of the area, and exciting new artworks to discover on the streets of the Cultural Industries Quarter (CIQ).

For The Love Of: Photography. Writing. Place.

Wed. 29 June 2022 — Wed. 13 July 2022

A photography and writing project about places you love. With free workshops and an open call for entries for a digital publication.

Creative Ways to Draw

Mon. 16 May 2022 — Mon. 18 July 2022

The Art House

A nine-week course, teaching you how to build depth, light and form in your drawing.

Painting the Human Figure

Tue. 17 May 2022 — Tue. 19 July 2022

The Art House

Learn to paint a human form and a portrait in this nine-week course.

Lino Printmaking: Introduction

Wed. 18 May 2022 — Wed. 20 July 2022

The Art House

Learn the basics of lino prints and develop your own style, with course tutor Dave Elsom.

Forging Turner & Other Famous Artists

Wed. 18 May 2022 — Wed. 20 July 2022

The Art House

Join an art historian to learn all about the techniques of painting employed by old and contemporary masters in this nine-week course.

Lino Printmaking: Intermediate

Thu. 19 May 2022 — Thu. 21 July 2022

The Art House

Expand your skills in lino printing at this nine-week course at The Art House.

Out & About: Freshly Squeezed Weekend

Sat. 30 July 2022 — Sun. 31 July 2022

CIQ Square in Pinball Park, Brown Street, S1 2BF

A festival of live music and workshops, programmed by and for young people. Expect a selection of the most talented young musicians and producers in the city. Full weekend details to come soon!

Out & About: Paint Jam Weekend

Sat. 6 August 2022 — Sun. 7 August 2022

CIQ Square in Pinball Park, Brown Street, S1 2BF

An exciting showcase of live art and creativity in public spaces in the Cultural Industries Quarter. With impressive new work by nationally and internationally recognised artists, celebrating everything that makes Sheffield unique. More details soon.

Circus Skills Workshop

Sat. 20 August 2022

Gathering Ground, Hillsborough Park, S6 4HD

Try out circus skills in Hillsborough Park with RivelinCo. For ages 11–15.

Future Filmmakers

Sat. 27 August 2022

Gathering Ground, Hillsborough Park, S6 4HD

Learn some of the skills you need to put a film together, and have a go at making your own. For ages 11–15.

Out & About: Sustainability Weekend

Sat. 3 September 2022 — Sun. 4 September 2022

CIQ Square in Pinball Park, Brown Street, S1 2BF

An inspiring weekend of family-friendly activity looking into ideas around environmental, social and personal sustainability. With creative contributions from local community groups and environmentally conscious artists. More info coming soon.