This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

What's On

Our Sheffield culture calendar. Make some plans with our picks of events, our art and theatre reviews, and programme highlights from the city's main festivals and venues.

Rumours Rave

Sun. 27 May 2018

Bungalows and Bears

Rumours as you’ve never heard it before.

Empire

Sun. 27 May 2018

Abbeydale Picture House

An extremely rare chance to see one of Warhol's most influential cinematic works – never before screened in the UK.

Yorkshire Silent Film Festival

Multiple dates

A season of rarely-seen silent cinema with live music accompaniment.

Sheffield Food Festival

Sat. 26 May 2018 — Mon. 28 May 2018

Peace Gardens

Three (hopefully) sunny days of food, food and more food.

News Club Live

Thu. 31 May 2018

Roco

A live debate show dissecting the news, with hip hop artist Lowkey and journalists Lisa MacKenzie and Angela Haggerty.

Shappi Khorsandi

Thu. 31 May 2018

The Leadmill

Mistress and Misfit is Khorsandi's new show inspired by England’s unsung heroine, Emma Hamilton.

Stuart Goldsmith

Fri. 1 June 2018

The Lescar

Like I Mean It is the latest stand-up show from the host of the Comedian’s Comedian podcast.

Peddler

Multiple dates

92 Burton Road

Food, music, art. In a former warehouse. At night.

Fleabag

Wed. 30 May 2018 — Sat. 2 June 2018

Crucible Theatre

The stage production of Phoebe Waller-Bridge’s hit BBC series.

This House

Tue. 29 May 2018 — Sat. 2 June 2018

Lyceum Theatre

James Graham's fictionalised account of late-1970s chaos and turbulence in British politics.

Rhesus Negative

Sat. 28 April 2018 — Sat. 2 June 2018

Cupola Gallery

An exploration of the fragility and power of our bodies, by three artists.

Charles Watson

Sun. 3 June 2018

Picture House Social

Slow Club man gone solo.

Bridget Christie

Mon. 4 June 2018 — Tue. 5 June 2018

Crucible Theatre

One of the most well-known, passionate and articulate feminist voices in UK comedy.

Superposition

Wed. 6 June 2018

Crucible Theatre

Poet, playwright and performance artist Chanje Kunda explores the laws of attraction using spoken word, live art and dance.

Peace in the Park

Sat. 9 June 2018

The Ponderosa

Music, community arts and positive vibes in the sunshine.

Tim Key

Sat. 9 June 2018

The superstar stand-up poet is back with a show about dating.

Hope is Strong

Sat. 17 February 2018 — Sun. 10 June 2018

Millennium Gallery

Art disrupts systems of power in an exhibition for these turbulent times – with work by Jeremy Deller, Mona Hatoum, Keith Piper and more. Our review...

Doc/Fest

Thu. 7 June 2018 — Tue. 12 June 2018

Showroom

Each June, the world of documentary descends on Sheffield to showcase some of the most fascinating factual films going.

Artist Talk: Jasleen Kaur

Thu. 14 June 2018

Bloc Projects

Hear from the London-based artist about her work examining the hierarchy of histories and labour through sculpture, video, conversation and cooking.

The Suncharms

Sat. 16 June 2018

Record Junkee, 7 Earl Street, S1 3FP

Back after 25 years.

Katy Perry

Tue. 19 June 2018

FlyDSA Arena Sheffield, Broughton Lane, S9 2DF

One of the world's biggest stars.

Dismembered: Polly Toynbee and David Walker

Wed. 20 June 2018

Sheffield Hallam Pennine Lecture Theatre, S1 2LW

The Guardian columnists on their new book, a critique of the current government.

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest

Fri. 8 June 2018 — Sat. 23 June 2018

Crucible Theatre

The stage version of Ken Kesey's classic American story about the individual up against the institution.

Migration Matters

Tue. 19 June 2018 — Sat. 23 June 2018

Celebrating culture, creativity and companionship in our city of sanctuary.

Portraits from the Market

Thu. 17 May 2018 — Sun. 24 June 2018

Yorkshire Artspace

A look at the Moor Market and its community of stallholders and visitors by painter Andrew Hunt and photographer Chris Saunders. Our review...

Festival of Debate

Wed. 18 April 2018 — Fri. 29 June 2018

Get informed, inspired and filled with ideas for positive change.

100 Years of Women’s Suffrage

Fri. 29 June 2018

Abbeydale Picture House

Join Festival of Debate for its closing party, in the company of writer and activist Helen Pankhurst, poet Hollie McNish, Girl Gang DJs, and more.

Changing Lives: 200 Years of People and Protest in Sheffield

Tue. 6 February 2018 — Sun. 1 July 2018

Weston Park Museum

A celebration of an outspoken city. Our review...

Seize the Day

Sat. 9 June 2018 — Sat. 7 July 2018

Cupola Gallery

An exhibition of work by Clare Bassett.

Mysteron

Sat. 7 July 2018

Cafe Totem, 23 Furnival Gate, S1 4QR

Out-of-this-world synth-pop.

Playground

Tue. 3 July 2018 — Sun. 8 July 2018

Millennium Gallery

Chance to play with the latest VR games and digital toys.

Love and Information

Fri. 29 June 2018 — Sat. 14 July 2018

Crucible Theatre

Encounters with over 100 characters, written by Caryl Churchill, reflecting our capacity for love and our appetite for knowledge.

1940s Weekend and Vintage Fayre

Sat. 14 July 2018 — Sun. 15 July 2018

Kelham Island Museum

Two days harking back to the culture of "make do and mend".

Kickov

Thu. 14 June 2018 — Sun. 15 July 2018

Abbeydale Picture House

An immersive football festival, bringing World Cup matches to the Picture House, along with games, dressing up and street food.

Permanent Dreams: A Season of Films by Ingmar Bergman

Fri. 11 May 2018 — Thu. 19 July 2018

Showroom

A celebration of the Swedish cinematic genius, with highlights from his 60-year career.

Doug MacLeod

Thu. 19 July 2018

The Greystones, Greystones Road, S11 7BS

Blues veteran.

Songs from the Seven Hills

Wed. 18 July 2018 — Sat. 21 July 2018

Crucible Theatre

A brand new show celebrating people born, raised and recently settled in Sheffield.

Tramlines

Fri. 20 July 2018 — Sun. 22 July 2018

Hillsborough Park

A three-day summertime celebration of music in Sheffield.

The Folk Forest

Sat. 21 July 2018 — Sun. 22 July 2018

Endcliffe Park

An oasis of calm between the trees.

Received Dissent: An American Mail Art Project

Tue. 3 April 2018 — Sat. 28 July 2018

Graves Gallery

A collection of art never meant for gallery walls, but created to be received by post. Featuring work by Man Ray, Yoko Ono, Marcel Duchamp, Roy Lichtenstein and Méret Oppenheim. Our review...

Pride Sheffield

Sat. 28 July 2018

Endcliffe Park

A celebration of equality, diversity and solidarity.

Wilko Johnson

Thu. 23 August 2018

The Leadmill

Guitar icon.

Figure

Sat. 14 July 2018 — Sat. 25 August 2018

Cupola Gallery

A group show at Hillsborough's Cupola gallery.

Heritage Open Days

Multiple dates

Eight days to explore heritage treasures across the city. Go, go, go!

Victorian Giants: The Birth of Art Photography

Sat. 30 June 2018 — Sun. 23 September 2018

Millennium Gallery

Experimental photos from the Victorian era by Lewis Carroll, Julia Margaret Cameron, Oscar Rejlander and Clementina Hawarden, on tour from the National Portrait Gallery.

Sensoria

Thu. 27 September 2018 — Sat. 6 October 2018

Sheffield's distinctly innovative, always interesting festival of sound and vision.

Powerful Silence

Sat. 1 September 2018 — Sat. 6 October 2018

Cupola Gallery

An exhibition of work by Bren Head.

Off the Shelf

Sat. 6 October 2018 — Sat. 27 October 2018

Sheffield's annual festival of words.

Circus!

Wed. 25 July 2018 — Sun. 4 November 2018

Weston Park Museum

Roll up, roll up, for a celebration of the circus and the performers who brought it to life.

Sheffield Print Fair

Sat. 10 November 2018

St Mary’s Church and Community Centre

Watch printmaking in action and pick up a print or two to take home.

Peaks

Sat. 13 October 2018 — Sat. 17 November 2018

Cupola Gallery

An exhibition of work by Alison Tyldesley, Paul Evans, John Bainbridge and Rebecca Buck.

Yorkshire Artspace Open Studios

Sat. 17 November 2018 — Sun. 18 November 2018

Yorkshire Artspace

A weekend of nosying around some of the most fascinating artists' studios in town.

Victorian Christmas Market

Sat. 1 December 2018 — Sun. 2 December 2018

Kelham Island Museum

Two days of old time Christmas shopping. Dickensian dress optional.