This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

What's On

Our Sheffield culture calendar. Filled with picks of the city’s arts, culture and heritage events, both in-person and virtual. Plus reviews and festival guides.

False Note

Thu. 7 March 2024 — Sun. 26 May 2024

Site Gallery

An exhibition of films by Freya Dooley on themes of replacement, communication and dishonesty. Accompanied by family-friendly events, workshops and a closing music performance. Opening night: Thursday 7 March, 5–8pm.

Get Out and Garden – May Half Term Crafts and Activities

Mon. 27 May 2024 — Thu. 30 May 2024

Manor Lodge

It’s National Children’s Gardening Week this May half term. Head down to Sheffield Manor Lodge and have some fun with gardening-themed crafts, activities and a trail.

Sheffield Life, Loss and Death Festival

Wed. 1 May 2024 — Fri. 31 May 2024

"Death is part of life. Let’s talk about it." A month-long series of free creative workshops, exhibitions, talks and more, exploring why conversations around life, loss and death matter. Organised by Compassionate Sheffield.

Organic by Kathryn Watson and In Praise of Shadows by Fumi

Sat. 4 May 2024 — Sat. 1 June 2024

Cupola Gallery

Two exhibitions exploring the strength and fragility of nature. With stoneware clay sculptures by Kathryn Watson, and delicate sculptures of insects made with natural materials by Fumi.

Capture Sheffield Weekend Photography Course

Multiple dates

Yorkshire Artspace: Exchange Place Studios

Immerse yourself in the magical world of photography with professional photographer and tutor Laura Page.

Kelham Makes: Polymer Clay Jewellery Workshop

Wed. 12 June 2024

Kelham Island Museum

Join artist Gill Cosford for a fun and creative workshop where you’ll learn how to make stunning jewellery pieces with silk screened polymer clay. 

LAND Photographs by Matthew Conduit

Tue. 2 January 2024 — Sat. 15 June 2024

Graves Gallery

Post-industrial landscapes, expressing the Sheffield-based artist's ideas about place, time, context and history.

It’s All a Show: Fairground Showmen, Identity and Mental Health

Mon. 5 February 2024 — Sun. 16 June 2024

Western Bank Library

An exhibition exploring what it means to be a showman in the 21st century. With interviews, photographs, poems and archive records looking at the relationship between identity and mental health in the community.

Alternate Realities

Wed. 12 June 2024 — Mon. 17 June 2024

Site Gallery

Alternate Realities is Sheffield DocFest's exhibition of innovative non-fiction and immersive documentary. Including a VR cinema.

Dig Where You Stand

Wed. 19 June 2024

Soft Ground

An archival project unearthing untold stories about people of colour who have lived, worked and put down roots in South Yorkshire over hundreds of years. Discover creative responses by local artists.

Migration Matters Festival

Fri. 14 June 2024 — Sat. 22 June 2024

A celebration of culture, compassion, and the positive impact migration and refugees have in Sheffield. Held on and around Refugee Week each June, this year's festival features headliners Amadou & Mariam, Sirens of Lesbos and Roger Robinson.

Welcoming Cultures

Sat. 22 June 2024

Millennium Gallery

A celebration of our magnificent, multicultural city, marking Refugee Week and Gypsy Roma Traveller History Month. Expect exhibitions, talks and performances from across Sheffield’s diverse communities.

Migration Matters exhibitions

Sat. 15 June 2024 — Sat. 22 June 2024

Soft Ground

A series of five exhibitions. With photography from South Yorkshire's queer asylum seeking community, Czech and Slovak Roma women’s perspectives on health, Venezuelan children's experiences of forced migration, and more. Launch evening on 17 June.

If Henna Could Speak

Sat. 15 June 2024 — Sat. 22 June 2024

Bloc Projects Meanwhile Space, 2–4 Matilda Street, 2-4 Matilda Street, S1 4QY

An exhibition centred on henna – its design, symbolic motifs and the ways it transcends bodies and borders.

Playground: Urban Dwellers

Mon. 3 June 2024 — Sun. 30 June 2024

Site Gallery

Cheeky characters by artists TADO and Lisa O'Hara are hiding across Sheffield city centre. Hunt them and bring them to life in augmented reality on your smartphone. Aimed at ages 5–12, open to all. From the folks at the Children’s Media Conference.

VR Experience: Phlegm’s Mausoleum of the Giants

Sun. 30 June 2024

Millennium Gallery

Don a virtual reality headset and enjoy a 360-degree film of Phlegm’s Mausoleum of the Giants exhibition.

Phlegm: Pandemic Diary

Sat. 13 January 2024 — Sun. 7 July 2024

Millennium Gallery

Pen and ink observations of daily life in lockdown during Covid-19, from artist Phlegm.

Children's Media Conference

Tue. 9 July 2024 — Thu. 11 July 2024

Showroom

The UK’s premier event for everyone in kids TV, media and entertainment. With a free exhibition, Playground, bringing together interactive digital art and maker activities for children to play with.

Sheffield Transformed Festival

Fri. 19 July 2024 — Sun. 21 July 2024

SADACCA, 48 Wicker, S3 8JB

A celebration of left-wing politics and arts. With chance to hear new ideas, take part in discussion, enjoy art, be creative, and get together at a party.

Future Now Festival of Creativity

Mon. 22 April 2024 — Sat. 27 July 2024

A showcase of work by Sheffield Hallam University’s graduating artists, designers, filmmakers, animators, writers, architects and performers.

Seeing Beauty: Mindful Photography in Natural Landscapes with Jess Petrie

Sat. 10 August 2024

Connect with nature through the lens of your camera in this enchanting day of mindful exploration and creative vision. Led by photographer Jess Petrie in the landscape of Sheffield Manor Lodge.

Art in the Gardens

Sat. 7 September 2024 — Sun. 8 September 2024

Sheffield Botanical Gardens

One of the largest outdoor art exhibitions in the north. Discover paintings in the pavilions and marquees, sculptures on the lawns, and say hello to artists and craft makers – all in beautiful surroundings.

Festival of the Mind

Thu. 19 September 2024 — Sun. 29 September 2024

Feed your mind with a series of fascinating and inspiring talks, exhibitions and performances. Organised by folks from the University of Sheffield in collaboration with local artists and creatives.

No Bounds

A weekend of bleeps, beats and sweaty grins. Returning in October to bring together music, visual art and technology. 2024 dates and lineup TBC.

City of Rivers

Fri. 24 November 2023 — Sun. 3 November 2024

Weston Park Museum

An exhibition of stories, objects, artwork, film and photography chronicling Sheffield's relationship with its waterways.

The Ruskin Collection: Hand, Head and Heart

Sat. 9 December 2023 — Sun. 1 December 2024

Millennium Gallery

A display about the positive power of making by hand. Including a new memorial quilt commemorating Terry Higgins, the first named person in the UK to die of an AIDS-related illness, on public display for the first time.

PostNatures

Thu. 16 March 2023 — Sat. 7 December 2024

Graves Gallery

An exhibition curated by artist Victoria Lucas, centred around a painting of an imaginary landscape by JMW Turner. Exploring perceptions of reality and representations of the relationship between women and nature.

Portraiture and the Human Figure

Thu. 16 March 2023 — Sun. 8 December 2024

Graves Gallery

“A celebration of being, making and looking.” Read our writer Wemmy's review of this inspiring exhibition full of love letters to bodies.

We are the Monument

Sat. 27 January 2024 — Sat. 21 December 2024

Graves Gallery

An exhibition curated by artist Yuen Fong Ling, encouraging us to consider the significance of those represented on, or in opposition to, the plinth.

Sheffield Stories: Caribbean Footsteps

Fri. 10 May 2024 — Sun. 2 May 2027

Weston Park Museum

An exhibition celebrating the many ways that people of African Caribbean heritage have contributed to Sheffield life. With stories of sport, carnival, fighting racism, and more.