This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

What's On

Our Sheffield culture calendar. Make some plans with our picks of events, our art and theatre reviews, and programme highlights from the city's main festivals and venues.

Windows of Displacement

Tue. 20 November 2018

Crucible Theatre

A bold solo show blending dance, song and spoken word.

We Can Time Travel

Wed. 21 November 2018

Crucible Theatre

Musician and theatre-maker Dom Coyote presents a new, solo epic adventure.

Rent Party

Thu. 22 November 2018 — Fri. 23 November 2018

Crucible Theatre

"One of the hottest theatrical parties" is back in Sheffield!

Dirty Work (The Late Shift)

Wed. 21 November 2018 — Fri. 23 November 2018

Theatre Deli

A provocative and intimate celebration of the power of language, from contemporary performance heroes Forced Entertainment.

Butterflies

Multiple dates

Crucible Theatre

An uplifting, family tale of friendship, courage and facing your fears.

Macbeth

Wed. 21 November 2018 — Sat. 24 November 2018

Lyceum Theatre

An epic and visually daring production of Shakespeare’s most intense tragedy.

Richard Carpenter is Close To You

Sun. 25 November 2018

Drama Studio

A razor-sharp parody play about a life spent playing the piano. Part of Enable US Festival.

Intronauts

Tue. 27 November 2018

Drama Studio

A madcap story about advancing technology, taking its cue from classic sci-fi movies and fuelled by absurd visual comedy and puppetry. Part of Enable US Festival.

Powerful Women Are About

Wed. 28 November 2018

Drama Studio

Ultra-conscious comedy by award-winning, terribly present clown. Part of Enable US Festival.

Lucy Hopkins Workshop

Thu. 29 November 2018

Drama Studio

A workshop conducted entirely in silence about making magnificent and ridiculous physical work. Part of Enable US Festival.

Long Shot

Thu. 29 November 2018

Drama Studio

An evening of clowning, contraptions, comedy and courage as one man’s belief in the near impossible is put to the test. Part of Enable US Festival.

Can I Speak?

Multiple dates

The Stage, The HUBs, 6 Paternoster Row, S1 2QQ

A Euripides/Shakespeare/Ibsen mashup with a contemporary twist, presented by Hallam Students' Union Theatre.

The Kingdom Come #4

Sat. 1 December 2018

Walkley Community Centre, 7A Fir Street, S6 3TG

A dazzling drag king cabaret hosted by Sheffield's feel-good queer events planners Andro and Eve.

Painters Of Light And Shadow

Sat. 1 December 2018 — Sun. 2 December 2018

Drama Studio

A powerful new play about the healing power of art, based on a true Sheffield story. Part of Enable US Festival.

Mack Ribbe is Going to Die

Sat. 8 December 2018 — Mon. 10 December 2018

DINA

A farcical murder mystery in reverse.

A Christmas Carol: the Immersive Dining Experience

Fri. 30 November 2018 — Sun. 16 December 2018

Theatre Deli

Join Marley over a sumptuous two-course feast, and some potent potion to keep of the winter chill.

Beauty and the Beast: A Musical Parody

Tue. 18 December 2018 — Sat. 22 December 2018

Theatre Deli

A gender-swapped musical parody of the Disney classic.

The Nutcracker

Multiple dates

The Montgomery

A classic Christmas story for all the family.

A Pair of Pantos

Multiple dates

Theatre Deli

A trans positive, all-gender-inclusive, queer pantomime mash-up for all the family and all families.

The Singing Mermaid

Thu. 6 December 2018 — Sun. 30 December 2018

Crucible Theatre

The story of a mermaid tricked into joining the circus, who longs to return to the sea. Based on the book by Julia Donaldson and Lydia Monks.

Peter Pan

Fri. 7 December 2018 — Sun. 6 January 2019

Lyceum Theatre

Panto!

Kiss Me Kate

Thu. 6 December 2018 — Sat. 12 January 2019

Crucible Theatre

This year's Crucible Christmas musical is a riotous, romantic comedy to make your heart soar.

The Sleeping Beauty

Tue. 8 January 2019 — Sat. 12 January 2019

Lyceum Theatre

Moscow City Ballet returns to Sheffield with another spectacular production.

The Department of Distractions

Fri. 25 January 2019 — Sat. 2 February 2019

Crucible Theatre

A conspiracy-theory documentary-exposé detective story for the 21st century that asks: what aren’t you looking at?

The Worst Witch

Tue. 29 January 2019 — Sat. 2 February 2019

Lyceum Theatre

Long before Harry Potter there was Mildred Hubble. An ordinary girl who found herself in an extraordinary place: a school for witches.

good dog

Thu. 7 February 2019 — Fri. 8 February 2019

Crucible Theatre

An early-2000s story of growing up in a multi-cultural community, and the everyday injustices that drive people to take back control.

Gypsy Queen

Sat. 9 February 2019

Crucible Theatre

A love story about two men who find each other in the most unlikely of worlds.

Rutherford and Son

Fri. 8 February 2019 — Sat. 23 February 2019

Crucible Theatre

Githa Sowerby’s celebrated classic about the struggle for supremacy, legacy and deciding one’s own destiny.

The Rocky Horror Show

Mon. 18 February 2019 — Sat. 23 February 2019

Lyceum Theatre

Richard O’Brien’s legendary rock ‘n’ roll musical returns to Sheffield on its worldwide tour.

hang

Thu. 21 February 2019 — Sat. 9 March 2019

Crucible Theatre

debbie tucker green’s provocative and haunting play about a victim turning the tables on a perpetrator.

Standing at the Sky's Edge

Fri. 15 March 2019 — Sat. 6 April 2019

Crucible Theatre

A story of 50 years of Park Hill, with music by Richard Hawley.