This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

What's On

Our Sheffield culture calendar. Make some plans with our picks of events, our art and theatre reviews, and programme highlights from the city's main festivals and venues.

Permanent Dreams: A Season of Films by Ingmar Bergman

Fri. 11 May 2018 — Thu. 19 July 2018

Showroom

A celebration of the Swedish cinematic genius, with highlights from his 60-year career.

Woodfall Season

Multiple dates

Showroom

A string of true-to-life films from the pioneers of the British New Wave, including The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner, Look Back in Anger, and A Taste of Honey.

Our Municipal Dreams

Wed. 25 July 2018

Showroom

A selection of archival short films exploring the changing urban landscape of post-war Britain and radical new visions for town planning.

Vertigo

Fri. 20 July 2018 — Thu. 26 July 2018

Showroom

The rare opportunity to see Vertigo on the big screen, to mark its 60th anniversary.

The Village Screen at Peak Cavern

Thu. 9 August 2018 — Fri. 10 August 2018

Peak Cavern, Castleton, Hope Valley, S33 8WS

Head underground and back to the 80s with pop-up screenings of The Goonies and The Lost Boys in a Peak District cave.

Summer of Ghibli

Fri. 20 July 2018 — Thu. 30 August 2018

Showroom

Enter the magical world of Studio Ghibli in this season of animated films.

Sensoria

Thu. 27 September 2018 — Sat. 6 October 2018

Sheffield's distinctly innovative, always interesting festival of sound and vision.

Doc/Fest

Thu. 6 June 2019 — Tue. 11 June 2019

Showroom

Each June, the world of documentary descends on Sheffield to showcase some of the most fascinating factual films going.