This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

Art picks

Head out on an art crawl of the city, with our picks of the exhibitions and artists' events on in Sheffield this month.

Browse the What's On calendar for even more art events.

Platform 2019

Thu. 8 August 2019 — Sun. 1 September 2019

Site Gallery

Highlights of work by the first five artists on the Freelands Artists Programme, an initiative supporting emerging artists in Sheffield City Region.

B L A K E

Fri. 26 July 2019 — Sun. 1 September 2019

The Viewing Room, Kommune, Castle House, Angel Street, S3 8LS

A solo show by Peter Blake, AKA the Godfather of British Pop Art.

John Ruskin: Art and Wonder

Wed. 29 May 2019 — Sun. 15 September 2019

Millennium Gallery

An exhibition of artworks, books and artefacts exploring John Ruskin's thinking on art and natural history, 200 years on from his birth.

Photomarathon Sheffield

Sat. 28 September 2019

Winter Garden, 90 Surrey Street, S1 2LH

Ready, set, snap! Booking opens on Monday 29th July at midday – with a limited number of free places for under-16s.

What is the Matter?

Thu. 12 September 2019 — Sun. 29 September 2019

Kelham Island Museum

An exhibition of sculptural works by women artists from the Material Voice collective, responding to artefacts and stories from the museum’s displays and collections.

The exhibition will be titled after its installation: Alex Farrar

Fri. 13 September 2019 — Sat. 12 October 2019

Bloc Projects

A landscape of disaster, created by artist Alex Farrar and inspired by 19th-century painter John Martin's apocalyptic visions.

It Moves Forward

Sat. 20 July 2019 — Sat. 26 October 2019

Graves Gallery

An exhibition of the work of Richard Hamilton, one of the founding fathers of Pop Art.

Joe Scarborough: Life in the Big Village

Sat. 17 August 2019 — Sun. 24 November 2019

Weston Park Museum

Over 60 paintings and drawings from the 50-year career of one of Sheffield's best-loved artists.