This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

Art picks

Head out on an art crawl of the city, with our picks of the exhibitions and open studio events on now in Sheffield.

Browse the What's On calendar for even more art events.

Yorkshire Artspace Open Studios

Sat. 17 November 2018 — Sun. 18 November 2018

Yorkshire Artspace

A weekend of nosying around some of the most fascinating artists' studios in town.

WE ARE HERE

Thu. 1 November 2018 — Sun. 18 November 2018

Bloc Projects

A lively and positive showcase of works by artists in Sheffield with physical and learning disabilities, featuring bright and vivid contributions using neon and fluorescent colours.

Kafountine Lino Printing

Fri. 2 November 2018 — Wed. 21 November 2018

The Art House

Stunning lino prints by five Senegalese artists, drawing on ideas deeply rooted in their West African culture, and domestic and political issues.

Heads Roll

Sat. 11 August 2018 — Sat. 24 November 2018

Graves Gallery

An exhibition spanning 400 years of portraiture, curated by Paul Morrison. Read our review.

Artist Talk: Chardine Taylor-Stone

Thu. 6 December 2018

Bloc Projects

Writer, educator and commentator Chardine uses music, art and fashion history to instigate socio-political analysis. Her talk will touch on topics such as black/working class feminism and black queer identities.

Liquid Crystal Display

Sat. 29 September 2018 — Sun. 27 January 2019

Site Gallery

Site Gallery reopens with a group exhibition exploring the idea that we live in the 'crystal era'. Read our review.

Construction House

Sat. 6 October 2018 — Sat. 20 April 2019

S1 Artspace

A programme of exhibitions and events exploring collective artistic activity, reflecting on the lasting influence of the Bauhaus movement 100 years on from its inception. Read our review of the first exhibition, Orders & Limitations.