This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

Art picks

Take a Sheffield art tour with our picks of the exhibitions and artists' events on now and coming soon.

Drop in and Draw

Multiple dates

Anomaly Arts Collective, 54–56 Abbey Lane, S8 0BP

Join Anomaly Arts Collective for their Friday morning Drop In and Draw sessions. Unwind, learn and create in a welcoming and relaxed environment.

Playground: Urban Dwellers

Mon. 3 June 2024 — Sun. 30 June 2024

Site Gallery

Cheeky characters by artists TADO and Lisa O'Hara are hiding across Sheffield city centre. Hunt them and bring them to life in augmented reality on your smartphone. Aimed at ages 5–12, open to all. From the folks at the Children’s Media Conference.

VR Experience: Phlegm’s Mausoleum of the Giants

Sun. 30 June 2024

Millennium Gallery

Don a virtual reality headset and enjoy a 360-degree film of Phlegm’s Mausoleum of the Giants exhibition.

Alchemy: Air and Fire by Pauline Rignall & Claire Allam

Sat. 8 June 2024 — Sat. 6 July 2024

Cupola Gallery

A collaboration between two artists in two mediums. Painting and pottery combine to highlight the elemental forces that influence and create visual effects.

Phlegm: Pandemic Diary

Sat. 13 January 2024 — Sun. 7 July 2024

Millennium Gallery

Pen and ink observations of daily life in lockdown during Covid-19, from artist Phlegm.

Anomaly Arts @ Woodseats Festival

Sat. 13 July 2024

Woodseats Community Garden, Camping Lane, S8 0GB

Join Anomaly Arts at Woodseats Festival for a day of free creative activities in the community garden. With live portrait drawing, art nature trails, printing and more.

Goldsmiths North

Fri. 12 July 2024 — Sun. 14 July 2024

Cutlers' Hall, Church Street, S1 1HG

Meet and buy from over 50 independent silversmiths and jewellery makers in the magnificent surroundings of Cutlers' Hall.

Selected Space

Fri. 12 July 2024 — Sun. 14 July 2024

Yorkshire Artspace: Persistence Works

A three-day showcase of beautiful things, curated by makers. Bringing together fine artists and quality makers from across the region.

Capture Sheffield Weekend Photography Course

Multiple dates

Yorkshire Artspace: Exchange Place Studios

Immerse yourself in the magical world of photography with professional photographer and tutor Laura Page.

Show Your Metal

Thu. 13 June 2024 — Sun. 29 September 2024

Millennium Gallery

Coinciding with the 400th anniversary of the Cutlers’ Company in Hallamshire, this major exhibition celebrates the marvel of the material in all its forms.

City of Rivers

Fri. 24 November 2023 — Sun. 3 November 2024

Weston Park Museum

An exhibition of stories, objects, artwork, film and photography chronicling Sheffield's relationship with its waterways.

The Ruskin Collection: Hand, Head and Heart

Sat. 9 December 2023 — Sun. 1 December 2024

Millennium Gallery

A display about the positive power of making by hand. Including a new memorial quilt commemorating Terry Higgins, the first named person in the UK to die of an AIDS-related illness, on public display for the first time.

PostNatures

Thu. 16 March 2023 — Sat. 7 December 2024

Graves Gallery

An exhibition curated by artist Victoria Lucas, centred around a painting of an imaginary landscape by JMW Turner. Exploring perceptions of reality and representations of the relationship between women and nature.

Portraiture and the Human Figure

Thu. 16 March 2023 — Sun. 8 December 2024

Graves Gallery

“A celebration of being, making and looking.” Read our writer Wemmy's review of this inspiring exhibition full of love letters to bodies.

We are the Monument

Sat. 27 January 2024 — Sat. 21 December 2024

Graves Gallery

An exhibition curated by artist Yuen Fong Ling, encouraging us to consider the significance of those represented on, or in opposition to, the plinth.

Sheffield Stories: Caribbean Footsteps

Fri. 10 May 2024 — Sun. 2 May 2027

Weston Park Museum

An exhibition celebrating the many ways that people of African Caribbean heritage have contributed to Sheffield life. With stories of sport, carnival, fighting racism, and more.