This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

Art picks

Head out on an art crawl of the city, with our picks of the exhibitions and artists' events on in Sheffield this month.

Browse the What's On calendar for even more art events.

Ilona Sagar: Deep Structure

Fri. 11 October 2019 — Sat. 14 December 2019

S1 Artspace

A beguiling film and exhibition inspired by Park Hill’s iconic architecture and its 1960s social experiment, and exploring wellbeing through looking at buildings as organisms. Does social planning have social effect? Read our review.

Darren O'Brien – Sharrow Vale and the Antiques Quarter

Sat. 14 December 2019 — Sun. 15 December 2019

Abbeydale Picture House

A weekend-long exhibition and an afternoon of talks in the Picture House's Fly Tower, launching local photographer Darren O'Brien's new photo book documenting life in Sharrow Vale and the Antiques Quarter.

Bethlehem Boys Club III

Thu. 5 December 2019 — Thu. 19 December 2019

Sidney + Matilda

A seasonal group show providing an alternative take on the season of goodwill. Over thirty regional, national and international artists share work that tackles themes of religion, politics, ritual, identity and consumer culture.

Peter Barber: 100 Mile City and Other Stories

Fri. 22 November 2019 — Fri. 20 December 2019

Sheffield Institute of Arts Gallery

An exhibition by acclaimed British architect Peter Barber, who has dedicated much of his working life to designing social housing. Exploring issues presented by the housing crisis, and the role architecture might play in creating a more humane city.

Birdsong in Winter

Sun. 8 December 2019 — Tue. 24 December 2019

Yorkshire Artspace - Exchange Place Studios, Exchange Street, S2 5TR

An exhibition of work in mosaic and wood by Diana Storey and Henk Littlewood.

Symbol

Sat. 23 November 2019 — Sat. 4 January 2020

Cupola Gallery

Cupola's Christmas exhibition – featuring a wonderful array of work from 55 artists responding to the theme of ‘Symbol’, with paintings, ceramics, printmaking, sculpture, photography, installation, glassware and jewellery.

Rewriting The Future

Fri. 27 September 2019 — Sun. 26 January 2020

Site Gallery

Exploring alternative narratives on gender, power, ecology and community.

Wetlands

Tue. 19 November 2019 — Sat. 29 February 2020

DINA

An earthy and sensual collection of figures, fauna and horses by London-based artist Jessica Jane Charleston in DINA Diner – comprised of the largest linocuts she's printed yet, alongside small jewel-like oils on board.