This website uses cookies. Read more about our cookie/privacy policy.

Accept and Close

The Sheffield culture guide written by in-the-know locals

Art picks

Head out on an art crawl of the city, with our picks of the exhibitions and artists' events on in Sheffield this month.

Browse the What's On calendar for even more art events.

Making Masterpieces in Sheffield & Venice

Fri. 18 October 2019

Exchange Street, S2 5TR

A big day of mural painting and drawing, followed by an evening of projections, celebrating John Ruskin and Renaissance painter Jacopo Tintoretto – happening simultaneously in Sheffield’s Castlegate and Venice.

Dream Babes Zine Readings

Thu. 24 October 2019

Site Gallery

An evening of readings and conversation on the importance of science and speculative fiction for social justice and narratives of hope.

It Moves Forward

Sat. 20 July 2019 — Sat. 26 October 2019

Graves Gallery

An exhibition of the work of Richard Hamilton, one of the founding fathers of Pop Art.

Prosaic Mosaic: A Survey of New Painting

Wed. 23 October 2019 — Sat. 26 October 2019

Bloc Projects

A group exhibition of paintings featuring small works from over fifty artists. Seen together, the varied works form a larger picture – a mosaic of contemporary painting practice.

The Unknown

Thu. 19 September 2019 — Sun. 27 October 2019

Yorkshire Artspace

How do we visualise the invisible? With this series of paintings and VR landscapes, Arantza Pardo explores the often subtle boundary between art and science. Plus, there's chance to join in a virtual reality painting session.

Photomarathon Sheffield exhibition

Mon. 14 October 2019 — Mon. 28 October 2019

Winter Garden, 90 Surrey Street, S1 2LH

One day in the life of the city, from the perspective of the 349 entrants in this year's Photomarathon photography challenge.

Squaring the Circle

Fri. 6 September 2019 — Thu. 31 October 2019

The Circle, 33 Rockingham Lane, S1 4FW

An exhibition of striking work by Stephen Carley and Nick Grindrod – each led by the way materials behave, self-imposed parameters, and intuitive mark-making. Read our Sean's review.

Sheffield Artist Editions Fair

Fri. 1 November 2019 — Sun. 3 November 2019

Bloc Projects

A presentation of artist editions and original artworks by Bloc Projects, Site Gallery and S1 Artspace.

Illustration Heroes

Fri. 11 October 2019 — Fri. 8 November 2019

Sheffield Institute of Arts Gallery

An exhibition of illustration by over 30 artists, each highlighting their own illustration 'hero' figure.

Sheffield Print Fair

Sat. 9 November 2019

St Mary’s Church and Community Centre

Watch printmaking in action and pick up a print or two to take home.

Genetic Automata

Wed. 16 October 2019 — Sun. 10 November 2019

Site Gallery

A new body of works by Larry Achiampong and David Blandy exploring race and identity in an age of avatars, video games, and DNA Ancestry testing.

Joanna Whittle

Sat. 19 October 2019 — Sat. 16 November 2019

Cupola Gallery

A solo exhibition of both real and imagined landscapes by a local painter.

Joe Scarborough: Life in the Big Village

Sat. 17 August 2019 — Sun. 24 November 2019

Weston Park Museum

Over 60 paintings and drawings from the 50-year career of one of Sheffield's best-loved artists.

Ilona Sagar: Deep Structure

Fri. 11 October 2019 — Sat. 14 December 2019

S1 Artspace

A new film and exhibition by artist Ilona Sagar, exploring the links between architecture, health and community wellbeing through the lens of Sheffield’s Park Hill estate.

Rewriting The Future

Fri. 27 September 2019 — Sun. 26 January 2020

Site Gallery

Exploring alternative narratives on gender, power, ecology and community.